CHARTER MEMBERS: ♦Larry Anthony, ♦ Jon Tyrone Blue, ♦ Eugene V. B. Gottlieb, ♦ Harry Hardin, Jr. ♦ Orlando H. Harris, ♦ Tommy James, lll, ♦ William McLauren, ♦ George Sherman, ♦ E. Darryl Southard, ♦ Thaddeus Steele, ♦ Vincent Taylor, ♦ Michael Williams, and ♦ John Wright. (Not all pictured are chartered members.)

Chapter History

January 20, 1989, marked another milestone in the history of Kappa Alpha Psi. On this date, another chapter was added to the long scroll of this great and noble clan.

The Gaithersburg/Rockville (MD) Alumni Chapter was born. Born under the tutelage and guidance of 14 brothers dedicated to the ideals of Achievement.

The chartering ceremony, which preceded a black-tie dinner, was presided over by the Eastern Province and new Grand Polemarch, Howard L. Tutman, Jr. This was the first alumni chapter that he had the honor of christening. Attendees included representatives from most of the alumni chapters in the Metropolitan Washington, DC area.

The Gaithersburg/Rockville (MD) Alumni Chapter had a unique start. The charter was formed in a matter of months. The first meeting to discuss establishing a chapter was held in July 1988, and the petition was submitted soon thereafter. The petition was approved by the Grand Board at their New Orleans meeting on November 5, 1988. The January chartering made the efforts complete and official.